Getting Unstuck with Summer Learning

The 4th of July has come and gone, and that means one thing: I am deep into summer learning.  It’s my time to learn new things that I will use in the upcoming school year.

I started the summer by traveling to the University of Delaware for the Partner4CS weeklong workshop on Computer Science pedagogy. This year’s focus was on diversity and culturally responsive practice, in particular, universal design.

This week I enrolled in two online opportunities.  The first is Getting Unstuck,  a 21-day, creative-computing-with-Scratch adventure! On each day of the adventure, I’ll be playing with a new programming puzzle.  The second is the Year In the Making’s Online Summer Bootcamp, 5 weeks of learning powerful ideas with a cohort of maker experts learning how to energize my classroom through high-impact hands-on activities.

And perhaps, what I am most looking forward to is the Scratch@MIT Conference!  The theme of this year’s Scratch conference is “The Next Generation”.  The theme is motivated, in part, by the next generation of Scratch.  The Scratch team will be releasing a new version of Scratch, called Scratch 3.0, later this year. Scratch 3.0 will expand how, what, and where children can create and learn with Scratch.

So, it is a busy summer of learning for me!  I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *